“My Life as a Turkey” and Occupy Wall Street; or why I finally decided to start a blog

I was watching Nature on WBGH Monday night, and it was about a man, Joe Hutto that parented wild turkey chicks for over a year. It was called “My Life as a Turkey.” Hutto discovered that these turkeys were actually very affectionate animals, and one of them he named Sweat Pea sat on his lap quite frequently while he pet it. They were smart too. At one point they were walking around their usual territory and they came upon a tree stump which had obviously been felled by humans years ago. These turkeys surrounded the stump and clucked and chirped and investigated it and seem very disturbed. It was like they knew the tree had been cut down while it was alive.

Wild turkeys! Photo by D. Gordon E. Robertson

He also discovered that they had many different calls for various objects, animals and actions. And they played a lot—with other animals like deer and squirrels. As Hutto walked around with these turkeys day in and day out for over a year, they taught him to live in the moment. Turkeys (and other animals) aren’t wondering what’s going to happen next year or obsessing about what happened yesterday, they’re just enjoying the day and taking what comes.  And when this turkey guy said that, to live in the moment, for some reason it affected me more than any other time I’d heard that. And we’ve all heard that phrase, “Live in the moment” over and over again ad infinitum, but how many of us act on that advice? At that moment I decided to. For some reason seeing these very sentient turkeys stirred something in me. Right then I decided I was signing up for that volunteer opportunity I’d been thinking about, and  I also decided I was going to start a blog.

As my friends know, I’ve been berating them to listen to my ideas and posting like a madwoman on Facebook and writing all these sort of essays in my free time that it just seemed like it was time to accept it. I was going to start being a blogger.

Flag at an Occupy Boston march

Occupy Wall St stirred me in a way that I think I was waiting for. I had never felt this need to speak up before about “the system.” But seeing the outrage other people have about the issues in our society coalesced for me vague but intense feelings I’d had all my life—”something isn’t right” and “what the hell are our lives about”?

My entire life I’ve cried at the drop of a hat. When I see homeless people tears come to my eyes. I’ve started giving money to those that have signs on the side of the road, and I buy Spare Change Newspaper, and now I finally signed up to volunteer at Horizons for Homeless Children. I’m finally doing something about the great sadness I can feel when I see people struggling. And now Occupy is calling attention to the atrocities our society commits in the name of profit and I am 100% on board.

My parents are born-again Christians and as a child I went to church weekly. But at night I would lay awake and wonder what “God” was. Was God the universe? What’s outside of the universe? What’s outside of God? Over and over every night. “If there isn’t anything outside of God, why isn’t there? That’s impossible. How can He go until the end of time?” I freaked myself out time and again. It just didn’t make sense to me. It didn’t explain enough for me. God and religion also couldn’t answer the question, why are there starving people in the world. All I would get when I asked that was, God works in mysterious ways. And all I could think was “Bullshit.” God has nothing to do with why there are billions of suffering people in the world. It’s not “His will.” No god that I would ever want to be a part of would act like that. Isn’t God supposed to be infinite love? That certainly doesn’t look like love to me.

So, with this introduction, on this blog I am going to write about metaphysics and consciousness and humanity. I am going to try to share what I’ve learned in the hours I’ve spent researching these various issues. I’ve discovered so much relevant, smart and compelling material relating to society and science and suffering. And I want to share it with y’all! I welcome any and all comments that may induce further learning and understanding so please comment if you have something to say.

Stay tuned, mofos. It’s going to be a wild ride!

3 thoughts on ““My Life as a Turkey” and Occupy Wall Street; or why I finally decided to start a blog

  1. Kimmer……………super for you on the volunteering to help homeless children……I am extremely proud of you for doing this. You can make a difference….one child at a time!!

    God does work in ways we do not understand………..thats what makes him sovergn. God is not responsible for starving people and many other tragedies in the world……Man is responsible……..noone else. We all have free will to choose good or evil…….do the right thing or do the wrong thing. God actually intervening in the world is rare……and when he does he does something good because he is 100% love. God cannot and will not fix all the bad things in the world(he will do that when end times come and we will all be judged then….but none of us know when that is) that would mean overriding free will……….which he gave to all of us. It would make us nothing more than puppits with God pulling the strings.
    Its up to those who choose the right things to do to try to make our lives one that helps others if only one life at a time. This is what is expected of us and I am pleased for you that you are choosing to make that difference………….the kids you help are lucky to have you!!

    Good for you on this Bloog…………isn’t free speech a wonderful thing!!!!…………the majority of people in the world don’t have such a freedom. This country was and still is the greatest country in the history of the world………it won’t be for much longer unless many things change. I am pleased you are committed to doing what you can to help.
    dad

  2. Keem! I saw that turkey movie too! At first I was like, ‘what the?’….but then I couldn’t stop watching. I love how he noticed that the wild turkeys were like his ticket into a whole other world in nature and the forest and that once they were gone, it was as if he no longer belonged, he was just a human again……also : I agree- the fact that they taught him the importance of living in the moment and noticing the small things around us. The tree stump part was so powerful…Obv, we can talk more about this…..excellent connection w/Occupy Boston as well.

Leave a Reply

